Networking

NAVIGATION
CATEGORIES
REFERRENCE
LINKS
  • Blocking mail from one specific user to another

    8 answers - 624 bytes - related search similar search Add To My Delicious Add To My Stumble Upon Add To My Google Mark Add To My Facebook Add To My Digg Add To My Reddit

    Hi,
    Can I use something like this to in spamassassin/local.cf to block mail from
    one a list to one particular user.
    I sometimes have users that ask me to block stuf that isnt really spam but
    that they have signed up to and forgotten why they get it. In this situation
    I dont want to block everyone from gettting these mails.
    Is using spamassassin to do this the wrong way to go about it?
    header MC_MY_RULE From =~ /mail\@somelist\.com/i
    header MC_MY_RULE Envelope-to =~ /genericuser\@somesite\.com/i
    header MC_MY_RULE Subject =~ /Mailing list subject/i
    score MC_MY_RULE 10.0
    regards,
  • No.1 | | 529 bytes | |

    Well, of course you can't "block" with SA itself. But I assume you knew that.

    You can't do what you want quite the way you showed it. But you can get the effect you want:

    header __MC_MY_FRM From =~ /mail\@somelist\.com/i
    header __MC_MY_ENV Envelope-to =~ /genericuser\@somesite\.com/i
    header __MC_MY_SUB Subject =~ /Mailing list subject/i
    meta MC_MY_RULE __MC_MY_FRM && __MC_MY_ENV && __MC_MY_SUB
    score MC_MY_RULE 10.0

    Now, whether that will really work for you

    Loren
  • No.2 | | 911 bytes | |

    Fri, Mar 23, 2007 at 12:22:25PM +0000, Michael Connors wrote:
    Hi,
    Can I use something like this to in spamassassin/local.cf to block mail from
    one a list to one particular user.
    I sometimes have users that ask me to block stuf that isnt really spam but
    that they have signed up to and forgotten why they get it. In this situation
    I dont want to block everyone from gettting these mails.
    Is using spamassassin to do this the wrong way to go about it?

    header MC_MY_RULE From =~ /mail\@somelist\.com/i
    header MC_MY_RULE Envelope-to =~ /genericuser\@somesite\.com/i
    header MC_MY_RULE Subject =~ /Mailing list subject/i
    score MC_MY_RULE 10.0

    If it's not spam, then dont use SA. You might just end up with some false
    data in Bayes. MTA is really the place where you want to block stuff like
    this. If you think about it, it's much more efficient.
  • No.3 | | 669 bytes | |

    I see, I didn't understand the syntax of the rules before, now I
    understand.
    Thank you, I will try that.

    Loren Wilton wrote:
    Well, of course you can't "block" with SA itself. But I assume you
    knew that.

    You can't do what you want quite the way you showed it. But you can
    get the effect you want:

    header __MC_MY_FRM From =~ /mail\@somelist\.com/i
    header __MC_MY_ENV Envelope-to =~ /genericuser\@somesite\.com/i
    header __MC_MY_SUB Subject =~ /Mailing list subject/i
    meta MC_MY_RULE __MC_MY_FRM && __MC_MY_ENV && __MC_MY_SUB
    score MC_MY_RULE 10.0

    Now, whether that will really work for you

    Loren
  • No.4 | | 1083 bytes | |

    Fri, 23 Mar 2007, Michael Connors wrote:

    Received: from [87.198.136.186] (helo=[10.1.1.125])
    by mail.go2.ie with esmtpa (Exim 4.52)
    id 1HUjCF-0005Fo-62; Fri, 23 Mar 2007 12:48:43 +0000
    Message-ID: <4603CCAC.7030702 (AT) go2 (DOT) ie>
    Date: Fri, 23 Mar 2007 12:48:44 +0000
    From: Michael Connors <michaelc (AT) go2 (DOT) ie>
    To: Loren Wilton <lwilton (AT) earthlink (DOT) net>
    CC: users (AT) spamassassin (DOT) apache.org
    Subject: Re: Blocking mail from one specific user to another

    I see, I didn't understand the syntax of the rules before, now I
    understand. Thank you, I will try that.

    As indicated elsewhere in this thread, this is best done by the MTA
    and not SpamAssassin.

    You appear to be using exim as your MTA. At least that's what's
    indicated by:

    Received: from [87.198.136.186] (helo=[10.1.1.125])
    by mail.go2.ie with esmtpa (Exim 4.52)
    id 1HUjCF-0005Fo-62; Fri, 23 Mar 2007 12:48:43 +0000

    So have a look at exim's wikki. This specific case is covered in:
  • No.5 | | 1361 bytes | |

    Dennis Davis wrote:
    Fri, 23 Mar 2007, Michael Connors wrote:


    >Received: from [87.198.136.186] (helo=[10.1.1.125])
    >by mail.go2.ie with esmtpa (Exim 4.52)
    >id 1HUjCF-0005Fo-62; Fri, 23 Mar 2007 12:48:43 +0000
    >Message-ID: <4603CCAC.7030702 (AT) go2 (DOT) ie>
    >Date: Fri, 23 Mar 2007 12:48:44 +0000
    >From: Michael Connors <michaelc (AT) go2 (DOT) ie>
    >To: Loren Wilton <lwilton (AT) earthlink (DOT) net>
    >CC: users (AT) spamassassin (DOT) apache.org
    >Subject: Re: Blocking mail from one specific user to another
    >>

    >I see, I didn't understand the syntax of the rules before, now I
    >understand. Thank you, I will try that.
    >
    >

    As indicated elsewhere in this thread, this is best done by the MTA
    and not SpamAssassin.

    You appear to be using exim as your MTA. At least that's what's
    indicated by:


    >Received: from [87.198.136.186] (helo=[10.1.1.125])
    >by mail.go2.ie with esmtpa (Exim 4.52)
    >id 1HUjCF-0005Fo-62; Fri, 23 Mar 2007 12:48:43 +0000
    >
    >

    So have a look at exim's wikki. This specific case is covered in:

    I will look into that.
    Thanks for your answers.
    regards,
    Michael
  • No.6 | | 1882 bytes | |

    Another option would be to use Sieve or another type of server side
    filter. This way, you would have a few options. You could reject it,
    discard it, or redirect the message elsewhere. Just an idea, but like
    the others have said, I wouldn't use SA for it.

    metts

    Michael Connors wrote:
    Dennis Davis wrote:
    >Fri, 23 Mar 2007, Michael Connors wrote:
    >>

    >

    Received: from [87.198.136.186] (helo=[10.1.1.125])
    by mail.go2.ie with esmtpa (Exim 4.52)
    id 1HUjCF-0005Fo-62; Fri, 23 Mar 2007 12:48:43 +0000
    Message-ID: <4603CCAC.7030702 (AT) go2 (DOT) ie>
    Date: Fri, 23 Mar 2007 12:48:44 +0000
    From: Michael Connors <michaelc (AT) go2 (DOT) ie>
    To: Loren Wilton <lwilton (AT) earthlink (DOT) net>
    CC: users (AT) spamassassin (DOT) apache.org
    Subject: Re: Blocking mail from one specific user to another

    I see, I didn't understand the syntax of the rules before, now I
    understand. Thank you, I will try that.

    >>

    >As indicated elsewhere in this thread, this is best done by the MTA
    >and not SpamAssassin.
    >>

    >You appear to be using exim as your MTA. At least that's what's
    >indicated by:
    >>

    >

    Received: from [87.198.136.186] (helo=[10.1.1.125])
    by mail.go2.ie with esmtpa (Exim 4.52)
    id 1HUjCF-0005Fo-62; Fri, 23 Mar 2007 12:48:43 +0000

    >>

    >So have a look at exim's wikki. This specific case is covered in:
    >>

    >
    >

    I will look into that.
    Thanks for your answers.
    regards,
    Michael
  • No.7 | | 848 bytes | |

    Fri, 23 Mar 2007, Loren Wilton wrote:

    Well, of course you can't "block" with SA itself. But I assume you knew that.

    You can't do what you want quite the way you showed it. But you can get the effect you want:

    header __MC_MY_FRM From =~ /mail\@somelist\.com/i
    header __MC_MY_ENV Envelope-to =~ /genericuser\@somesite\.com/i
    header __MC_MY_SUB Subject =~ /Mailing list subject/i
    meta MC_MY_RULE __MC_MY_FRM && __MC_MY_ENV && __MC_MY_SUB
    score MC_MY_RULE 10.0

    Don't forget:
    1) this is predicated upon the 'Envelope-to' being available to SA, not
    all configurations do that.
    2) What if another user at your site also subscribed to that list and
    wanted it. The mail message can have multiple 'Envelope-to' addrs.
    Then you'd have a FP for the second user.
  • No.8 | | 1834 bytes | |

    Hi,
    I have it working, I am blocking it at the MTA using policy controls.
    It appears to be working fine.
    Thanks everyone for the help,
    Michael

    Jonathan M Metts wrote:
    Another option would be to use Sieve or another type of server side
    filter. This way, you would have a few options. You could reject it,
    discard it, or redirect the message elsewhere. Just an idea, but like
    the others have said, I wouldn't use SA for it.

    .metts

    Michael Connors wrote:
    >Dennis Davis wrote:

    Fri, 23 Mar 2007, Michael Connors wrote:

    Received: from [87.198.136.186] (helo=[10.1.1.125])
    by mail.go2.ie with esmtpa (Exim 4.52)
    id 1HUjCF-0005Fo-62; Fri, 23 Mar 2007 12:48:43 +0000
    Message-ID: <4603CCAC.7030702 (AT) go2 (DOT) ie>
    Date: Fri, 23 Mar 2007 12:48:44 +0000
    From: Michael Connors <michaelc (AT) go2 (DOT) ie>
    To: Loren Wilton <lwilton (AT) earthlink (DOT) net>
    CC: users (AT) spamassassin (DOT) apache.org
    Subject: Re: Blocking mail from one specific user to another

    I see, I didn't understand the syntax of the rules before, now I
    understand. Thank you, I will try that.

    As indicated elsewhere in this thread, this is best done by the MTA
    and not SpamAssassin.

    You appear to be using exim as your MTA. At least that's what's
    indicated by:

    Received: from [87.198.136.186] (helo=[10.1.1.125])
    by mail.go2.ie with esmtpa (Exim 4.52)
    id 1HUjCF-0005Fo-62; Fri, 23 Mar 2007 12:48:43 +0000

    So have a look at exim's wikki. This specific case is covered in:


    >I will look into that.
    >Thanks for your answers.
    >regards,
    >Michael
    >>

    >

Re: Blocking mail from one specific user to another


max 4000 letters.
Your nickname that display:
In order to stop the spam: 7 + 6 =
QUESTION ON "Networking"

EMSDN.COM